(230) 413 2600


Flacq (which is a name of Dutch origin) was an area known to the Dutch during their occupation of the island during the 17th and 18th centuries.  The District of Flacq derives its name from the region’s topography (the name Flacq is derived from the Dutch word ‘vlakt’ meaning ‘flat’) and this inspired the Dutch in naming this large Eastern District.  The quality of the soil made Flacq an ideal choice for the Dutch to establish a garden and numerous important settlements (notably in Trou d’Eau Douce which they named Cronenburg and in Grande Riviere Sud-Est). During the French period of occupation, Flacq was divided into 8 townships: Flacq, La Mare aux Lubines, Les Quatre Cocos, Trou d’Eau Douce, La Riviere Seche, La Mare aux Fougeres, Le Camp de Masque and Les Trois Ilots.